The Land Transport Authority (LTA) has awarded the final civil contract for the design and construction of Elias station and tunnels under the Cross Island Line-Punggol Extension (CPe) to CES_SDC Pte. Ltd.[1] – Chip Eng Seng Contractors (1988) Pte Ltd Joint Venture. The contract, valued at around $562 million, completes the appointment of contractors for all four CPe stations.

CES_SDC Pte. Ltd. and Chip Eng Seng Contractors (1988)[2] Pte Ltd are established construction and civil engineering contractors with established track records in rail and infrastructure projects. CES_SDC Pte. Ltd. was involved in the construction of the Marina South station for Thomson-East Coast Line and the company is currently involved in the construction of two stations along Jurong Region Line.

Construction works for the CPe Elias station and tunnels are expected to start in the second quarter of 2023 with passenger service targeted to commence in 2032.

CPe Elias station is an underground station located along Pasir Ris Drive 3. The station will be built at a depth of about 40m and will have five entrances. The ground at this site is made up of Old Alluvium, a predominantly soil-like material comprising sandy and silty clay. A tunnel boring machine will be used to construct a pair of tunnels, each approximately 1.4km long, linking Elias and Pasir Ris stations, with the deepest section approximately 50m below ground level. LTA and the contractors will monitor the works closely to ensure that they are carried out safely with minimal impact to stakeholders.

The Cross Island Line (CRL) is Singapore’s eighth MRT line. It will serve existing and future developments in the eastern, north-eastern and western corridors, linking major hubs such as Jurong Lake District, Punggol Digital District and Changi region. The CRL will have almost half of its stations as interchanges with other rail lines, making it easier and more convenient for commuters to travel across the rail network.

CRL will be constructed in three phases. Announced in 2019, CRL Phase 1 is 29 kilometres long, and comprises 12 stations from Aviation Park to Bright Hill[3]. Construction works have commenced and are expected to complete by 2030. CRL Phase 2, announced in September 2022, is approximately 15 kilometres and comprises six underground stations – Turf City, King Albert Park, Maju, Clementi, West Coast and Jurong Lake District. Engineering studies for the CRL Phase 3 are ongoing and more details will be announced after these studies are completed.

The 7.3-kilometre CPe will comprise four stations, namely Punggol, Riviera, Elias, and Pasir Ris. It will provide better rail connectivity and greater accessibility for those living in eastern areas such as Pasir Ris and Tampines North as well as north-eastern areas such as Punggol and Sengkang. More than 40,000 households are expected to benefit from the CPe.